REVIEW: I Loved, I Lost, I Made Spaghetti

Antoinette LaVecchia in I Loved, I Lost, I Made Spaghetti. Photo by Sandy Underwood.
Antoinette LaVecchia in I Loved, I Lost, I Made Spaghetti. Photo by Sandy Underwood.

There’s something masterful in the way Antoinette LaVecchia works the Thompson Shelterhouse.  As Guilia Melucci, the character in this one-woman show, who is in actuality the author of the book, I LOVED, I LOST, I MADE SPAGHETTI, she delights the audience with tales of romance gone wrong all while cooking a gorgeous authentic Italian meal.

I can’t imagine how difficult it is to memorize an entire two-hour monologue.  That alone is an amazing feat.  Then add cooking a meal, serving it to the guests in the front row, and interacting with the folks in the crowd with an occasional ad lib and you have an impossible task.  But LaVecchia does it all with ease.  It’s breathtaking to watch her move about the kitchen, reel off incredibly funny stories about the men her character has dated, and answer her cell phone to talk to her feisty Italian mother.  And she does it  all with effortless grace.

A good show inspires creativity in me. This one not only made me want to go home and cook but it also made me want to go home and write.  This is a great show; happy and upbeat.  Oh, and it’s very funny, too.  I can’t praise it enough.  The show is relatable to all, too. It’s not “just a show for women.”  The friend who accompanied me is young, male, and from out west – but he told me, “This is totally my life!”  Another friend who I saw in the lobby after said, “I’m Irish, but I know all about the Italian meals she talked about.”  I grew up on a farm, am a picky eater, and yet I still found the show an absolute joyous night of theatre.  Everyone will enjoy this play.

I LOVED I LOST I MADE SPAGHETTI is part standup comedy, part cooking show, part romance, a little bit of tragedy, and 100% fun.  Get tickets now before they’re all sold out and pay a little extra to eat the delicious looking food (only $35 extra with a center section ticket).

I LOVED, I LOST, I MADE SPAGHETTI plays in the Thompson Shelterhouse at the Playhouse in the Park through November 2nd.  Tickets and more information can be found here.  Go meet the author of the book – the REAL Guilia Melucci – on Saturday afternoon at a free Playhouse Perspective.  From their website: “Meet Giulia Melucci, the author of I Loved, I Lost, I Made Spaghetti, at our special free lecture. She’ll discuss the origins of the memoir and its transformation to the stage. We’ll wrap up with questions from the audience and a book signing. No reservations required.”

Thanks for Reading.

