FEATURE: Going Cuckoo – Meet the Cast of ONE FLEW OVER THE CUCKOO’S NEST – Angel Zachel as “Nurse Ratched”

Angel Zachel is Nurse Ratched / Photo by Mikki Schaffner
Angel Zachel is Nurse Ratched / Photo by Mikki Schaffner

This week, we are previewing ONE FLEW OVER THE CUCKOO’S NEST at Falcon Theatre by profiling several cast members in the show.

Angel Zachel plays “Nurse Ratched,” one of the most iconic characters in American film, literature, and on the stage. She sat down with us as she prepares to take the stage this Friday night.

Thanks, Angel.  How did you get started in the theatre?
I have always been a bit of a ham and got the opportunity to hone my skills in high school when I attended Northside High School for the Performing Arts in Atlanta, GA (where I grew up). I was the first freshman ever accepted into Advanced Drama (a junior and senior level class). While there, I had the opportunity to work with some great actors and bite into some chewy roles like, Constanze from Amadeus, and Bottom the Weaver in Midsummer Night’s Dream. Once I moved to Cincinnati, I found an agent and was cast in some local commercials as well as an independent film, Burning Annie.
Tell us about Nurse Ratched.
Nurse Ratched is the antagonist to R.P. McMurphy. She has designed her little ward of chronics and acutes to behave as she deems. When one of her patients falls out of line, she knows how to cut them down with words. But one must understand that she believes she is doing all of this for their own good.
Angel in SEMINAR at Falcon Theatre / Photo by Mikki Schaffner
Angel in SEMINAR at Falcon Theatre / Photo by Mikki Schaffner
You’re not a stranger to the Falcon stage.  From FROZEN to SEMINAR, you’ve played lots of unique characters.  How has this show been for you?
It has been great working on this show. I am enjoying my time with this large group of newcomers to Falcon’s stage. The challenges I have faced are the same with any show; working on characterization, mining the relationships between characters, etc. I am particularly excited to make my debut as a villainous character – I can’t recall when I’ve ever played the bad guy.
Angel in FROZEN at Falcon Theatre / Photo by Mikki Schaffner
Angel in FROZEN at Falcon Theatre / Photo by Mikki Schaffner

So, what’s next for you?

After this show closes it is rest and relaxation for me. This is my second of two shows I’ve done back-to-back. The rehearsal process is arduous at times so I am looking forward to stepping away from the stage until next year. I am hoping people will have a chance to see me again on Falcon’s stage for one of the many excellent shows they will be doing for the 2014-15 season.

Come see “Nurse Ratched” and the rest of the Cuckoo’s Nest cast at Falcon Theatre beginning this Friday and Saturday and running through April 12th.  Tickets are available here.

Thanks for Reading.

